Tuesday, January 23, 2018
Facebook YouTube Storify Instagram

Latest News (115)

DSC 0086--EditedMary Huddleston, Cumberland student liaison to the School Board, and Ivy Arbaugh, alternate student liaison, graduated from Cumberland High School. Student liaisons are expected to attend all regular, open meetings and complete assignments for research and data collection when requested by the School Board. While they do not attend closed sessions and do not vote, they do provide a direct link to student concerns and issues.

Both students achieved an advanced studies diploma as well as getting an Associate’s degree in General Studies from Southside Virginia Community College. Mary is the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Thomas Huddleston of Farmville and she plans to attend Virginia Tech in the fall to become a future equine veterinarian. She is a member of the National Honor Society, the Fellowship of Christian Athletes, and Phi Theta Kappa. Ivy, the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Donald Arbaugh of Cumberland, plans to attend James Madison University to major in international business. She has played volleyball, basketball, softball, and cheered; and was a member of the National Honor Society and the Fellowship of Christian Athletes.

Next year’s student liaisons to the School Board were approved at the May meeting. Wyatt Salinas will serve as liaison and Alexa Massey as alternate liaison.

Mary Huddleston was recognized at the May meeting of the Cumberland School Board for her service as Student Liaison to the School Board for 2013-2014. Not pictured was Ivy Arbaugh, who served as Alternate Liaison.

Wyatt Salinas was approved at the Student Liaison to the School Board for 2014-2015. Alternate Student Liaison will be Alexa Massey (not pictured).

20140319 123314Delegate Thomas “Tommy” Wright paid a visit to Cumberland Elementary School, bringing gifts for students. He brought copies of two free booklets made available by the Virginia Assembly. One booklet, Virginia House of Delegates Coloring Book, is for 4th grade students, and the other, Virginia House of Delegates Activity Book, is targeted for 5th grade students. Both publications provide information that students need to know to pass their Virginia History SOL tests. He brought the gifts just in time for students to enjoy them before spring break.
He also visited classrooms and talked with faculty and staff members. Mr. Wright’s district now includes the counties of Amelia, Cumberland, Lunenburg (part), Mecklenburg, and Nottoway.  



Students proudly display their new booklets. FRONT ROW: Allie Hurt, DeAven Bland, Madalyn Boyles, Marwell Arauz-Tellez, and Kennedy Williams.  BACK ROW: Mr. Mark Mabey, The Honorable Tommy Wright, and Micah Kinney.


 Mark Mabey, principal of Cumberland Elementary School, and Delegate Tommy Wright delivered instructional coloring books to CES students.

   Delegate Coloring Books

DSC 0014--EditedFive staff members of Cumberland County Public Schools (CUCPS) received recognition at the 8th Annual Southside Virginia Regional Technology Consortium (SVRTC) Awards Banquet held on March 27, 2014, at Longwood University.

Mr. Chris Hartley, Supervisor of IT for CUCPS, was awarded the regional Technology Leadership Award. This competitive award recognizes an administrator, educator, or community member who advances technology in the educational setting. He was selected by a team of professionals from Longwood University’s Institute for Teaching through Technology and Innovative Practices.

Three division winners were also recognized. Mrs. Sherrie Snead, Cumberland Middle School (CMS) 6th grade English teacher, was the recipient of the division Technology Teacher Award for CUCPS. This award is given to a classroom teacher who advances learning through integration of technology into the curriculum. Mrs. Amanda Stoltzfus, Cumberland Elementary Reading Specialist, received the Technology Instructional Support Award, which is given to an instructional support person who advances a school division’s technology environment through providing crucial instructional technology support. Mrs. Stoltzfus was instrumental in training teachers how to utilize new reading assessment programs and interpret data. Mrs. Wendy Tillett, CMS special education teacher, received the Technology Support Award. This award recognizes a technology support person that advances a school division’s technology environment through providing crucial tech support. Mrs. Tillett helped test pilot and troubleshoot the implementation of strategic software applications such as EduWidgets as well as assistive technologies.

The SVRTC is an organization dedicated to improving education and economic growth in the region. It began in 1995 when the State Superintendent of Public Instruction made funds available for the development of a consortium that would address the issue of the technology divide that existed in rural Southside Virginia. It is now composed of 33 school divisions and partner entities in the area. Its mission is to assist members with coordinating the acquisition and effective integration of emerging technologies to enhance learning.

Photo:  CUCPS staff members being recognized at the SVRTC Banquet include Mrs. Sherrie Snead, Mrs. Wendy Tillett, Mr. Chris Hartley, and Mrs. Amanda Stoltzfus.

little duke groupThe Virginia School Boards Association (VSBA) has released its 18th annual VSBA Showcases for Success directory, highlighting successful K-12 programs in Virginia’s public schools. From school safety and community outreach, to classroom programs and after-school clubs, a wide range of programs are included. This year’s theme was the VSBA’s tagline, “Leadership – Advocacy – Support.” Criteria for inclusion in the directory focused on leadership, advocacy, and support at every level of the educational process.

Cumberland Elementary School was recognized for its Little Duke Leaders program. This program was started this year with the purpose of developing leaders who will learn the leadership skills that will enable them to help others and make a difference in their communities.

“In addition to highlighting some of the best practices taking place in Virginia’s schools, the Showcases for Success directory can serve as a starting point to develop similar programs in other school divisions,” said Gina G. Patterson, VSBA executive director.

The directory is available on the VSBA web site at www.vsba.org/showcases. A total of 119 programs from 62 school divisions are included.

Cumberland Elementary School Little Duke Leaders: FRONT ROW:  Abigail Winslow, Addison Carney, Shaylynn Rublee, Bianca Brevard, Shaiann Allen, Robert Trent, Joshua Alexander, Lydia Hurt. MIDDLE ROW: Nia Davis, Dawson Atkins, Juniper Ludgate, Isabelle Atkins, Jamiya Vick, Maya Bell, Taylor Hughes, Emily Eroh. BACK ROW: Kyler Gilliam, Brandon Diming, Kamirah Brown, Sheliá Robinson, ShaNyla Allen, Cole Dalton, Callie Dominick.