Thursday, November 23, 2017
Facebook Twitter YouTube Blogger Instagram

Cumberland Football Team Wins Sportsmanship Award

On January 25, 2017, the Cumberland High School Football Team was presented with the George Gasser Sportsmanship Award at a banquet at the Richmond Touchdown Club. This award is for small schools (1A-3A). After each game, the officials give a sportsmanship score to each team throughout the state. At the end of the year, those scores are totaled and the best score wins the award. Coach Edgar Knapp, head football coach for CHS, and the senior team captains—which included Kaleb Boyles, Jaylen Gilliam, and Brandon Leabough—accepted the award. Coach Alfonso Bell (Athletic Director) and Coach Travis Gilliam (Assistant Athletic Director) were also in attendance.

Currently the trophy is displayed on the counter in the high school office. The division will keep the trophy until next year when it will be awarded to the winner for 2017. According to Coach Knapp, “We can win it again next year. We felt like it was a tangible sign that the program. . . is headed in the right direction.”

CHS Wins Sportsmanship Award.jpg

Brandon Leabough, Alfonso Bell (Athletic Director), Kaleb Boyles, Edgar Knapp (Head Football Coach), Jaylen Gilliam, and Travis Gilliam (Assistant Athletic Director).

Read 691 times